Contextual Reading

Placeholder Image

When i get struck while reading a book,

When the word forbids me to continue,

There are lot of things i can do.

I can do them all,please, by myself;

I don’t need help from you.

I can look at the picture to get a hint.

Or think what the story’s about.

I can “get my mouth ready” to say the first letter.

A kind of “phonetic sound” that might help.

I can break down the words into smaller parts,

Or find smaller words in compound words

Like suitcase and foreword.

I can think of a word that makes sense in that place,

Guess it or keep it blank and read on

Until the sentence has reached its end,

Then go back and try these on:

“Does it make sense?”

“Can we say it that way?”

“Does it look right to me?”

Chances are the right word will pop out like the sun.

And i get the speed which makes me overturn.

Reading contextually does let you endure and carry forward with your reading speed. Its better to underline that obscure word and attend to it when you have covered the portion till that chapter ends. Otherwise, on the other way around, we may lose the speed, the flow and most importantly that interest or enthusiasm that comes with the flow. To build your Vocab, its also important to revise the words once noticed and this work suits up with the contextual reading as it helps us to preferably remember.

 

Leave a comment